Beachbody Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Beachbody
Shop Fitness Gear or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless

Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless

Improve your performance by training in your optimal cardio zone with this accurate and easy-to-use fitness tool. Just press touch sensors to check your heart rate anytime. No need for a chest strap.
Average Customer Rating:
1.65 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
15
3 out of 20(15%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Review 1 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

When wrist band breaks - too bad. "Buy a new watc

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Silverton OR
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was happy with the performance of the watch. Battery wore out. No problem. Standard battery for replacement. When wrist band broke, no replacement available. Watch works well. Heart Rate Monitor works most of the time and agrees with other methods of checking heart rate. Without a wrist band the watch and monitor are of no use. Bad.
Cons: no replacement wrist band
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bowflex strapless heart rate monitor

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from GA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased the Bowflex strapless heart rate monitor. The heart rate monitor doesn't work; it never picks up my pulse so it never shows my heart rate. If you are going to sell a product, please test it. The heart rate monitoring is very crucial to your workout. .
Fitness Programs: P90X
Cons: Low quality
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for weight lifting. Not good for Plyo workout

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Afghanistan
This is a good watch by Bowflex for using the Bowflex or weight lifting in which you usually take breathers between sets. Push the button for 3 seconds for the mode to come up; then carefully hold thumb and forefinger on watch for a few seconds to get pulse. By this time its a good 8 to 10 seconds to get your results of your heart rate. This is way too slow for me because i like to keep my P90x program going nonstop. When doing a plyo workout, its constant, so there is not much time for stopping except when there are water breaks. But theres times when I need to check my heart rate right after a certain round. I use the the heart rate monitor like shown on the videos with the chest strap. No stopping at all when you use one like Tony is using.
Fitness Programs: P90 the X
Pros: Very durable
Cons: too long wait for result
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It Doesn't Work

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The heart rate monitor doesn't work. I wish Beachbody would team up with a better quality product. Heart rate monitoring is so crucial to the programs and to sell an unreliable, cheap product is sad.
Fitness Programs: P90X
Cons: Low quality
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

watch band broke!!

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
lasted only a year and the watch band broke. not under warrenty
Cons: Not durable
+21points
28of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works--everyone's probably using it wrong!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So I think I figured out what everyone's problem is... You're wearing it upside down! It measures the pulse from the wrist, not the fingers as I originally thought--that's just to get a heat sensor to tell it, "Yes, take a measurement now" (as opposed to checking it constantly, a process which would probably drain the battery).
It does take some time to take a reading, though. It's basically the same as counting yourself while staring at a clock and doing the math--just minus the mental math, counting, and distraction of staring at a clock, so I still think it's a good product. Chest straps are too annoying.
I was extremely frustrated with this product at first, too, but now it works great! Just have to wear the watch upside-down, which I'm not used to, but I'm sure I will be with time.
Fitness Programs: P90X
Pros: strapless, works!
Cons: bad instructions
+9points
22of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Calgary, AB
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this because Beachbody recommended it. I was under the impression that if BB put their faith in a product, we could too. I was wrong! This is a horrible heart rate monitor.
You have to stop moving, dry your fingers and pray you don't twitch in order to get an 'accurate' reading. That's right, you have to stop moving during a workout to see what your heart rate is. By the time it tells you what your heart rate is, 10-15 seconds have passed, making the reading irrelevant!
Why would BB offer this to their customers?
If I could give it a zero, I would. Do not buy this item!
Fitness Programs: P90X, P90X2, Insanity, Turbo Fire
+28points
33of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pretty Bad

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this watch when I went crazy with all things beachbody.com. What a mistake, I should have done a little research and bought a Polar. Oh well, live and learn.
This watch is very inconsistent with it's readings if you can even get it to work. You almost have to stop to take a reading.
Fitness Programs: P90X, P90X2
Pros: no chest strap
Cons: hard to take a reading
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from missouri
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
when you are in the heat of the workout and want to know how high your heart rate is, you have to stop and stand perfectly still for it to maybe read your pulse. Also I'd you have a good sweat going on and your arms are sweating this product will not read your pulse as well. This is pretty much a glorified Resting Heart rate monitor. I don't mean to be negative but I thought buying from here and the Bowflex name would mean this would be a good product.
Fitness Programs: P90x and turbofire
Pros: it's a watch
Cons: Low quality
+25points
28of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I don't know about this monitor

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Freeport NY
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It just stop working with no explanation. I will call for a refund
Fitness Programs: p90x and p90x2
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, just stop working
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very disappointed

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This monitor only works maybe 20-30% of the time you attempt to take your heart rate and mostly when you are sitting down and not exercising.. very disappointing!
Fitness Programs: insanity
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HRM

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from West Babylon, NY
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this monitor, it has help me with everything I have needed. I couldn't ask for a better monitor.... Thank you
Pros: High quality
-21points
2of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worked well for the 1st month (only)

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
my heart monitor stops and starts when I am working out at my peak, it is extremely frustrating. The unit was reliable the first month. I consistently have to stop and wipe off the back of the chest monitor with the hopes it will work, but often times it will not, The heart monitor was advertised as water proof or did I assume it was water proof (I am referring to sweat only) not swimming in the pool.
Fitness Programs: I want a reliable heart monitor, I am not a happy consumer
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, not reilable
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of $

PostedApril 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, WA
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is an absoute waste of money. It would not work consistently. Very frustrating when you want to know you heart rate, but because of it's tempermentality, it would not give a reading unless I took off my watch waited for some minutes then touching the watch face...it would give a reading! Piece of junk!
Cons: Low quality
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the $

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Unreliable - gives a ready sometimes and even when it does give a reading, I question the accuracy. Don't bother with the Bowflex customer service. I don't trust sending it to "John" at their address for him to "take a look at it". Beachbody sent a replacement and I had the same problem with that the replacement and based on the other reviews, it seems that this piece of equipment is a waste of money.
Fitness Programs: P90X
Cons: Low quality, unreliable
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This was a waste of money!

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Saint Louis, MO
I purchased two of these items, one for my partner and one for me. The units do not work reliably for either of us. Giving this even 1 star is a bonus for it, because you have a less than 1 in 5 chance of getting a reading. My wrist is nearly bruised from pressing on this device to get a reading. I was banking on the Bowflex name to supply a quality product. I am afraid that they have totally missed the mark. I now have a watch that I did not need.
Fitness Programs: P90X
Cons: simply does not work reliably.
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
You have to hold down two buttons to get your heart rate and it does not work more than it does work.
Cons: Low quality
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont Buy

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Grafton, ND
It does not work, 9 times out of 10you have to adjust it a bunch just to get a reading. I wouldnt buy it again knowing what I know now.
Fitness Programs: P90X
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, wont take heart rate
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sometimes gives heart rate

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Palm Beach Gardens, Fl
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Frustrating that it only gives you your heart rate sometimes.
Fitness Programs: Insanity with Sean T
Pros: Very durable
Cons: does not always give your heart rate
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Heart Rate Monitor – Bowflex ® Strapless
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product when it works!

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Dayton, OH
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love knowing my heart rate but the watch seems tempermental. Some days it works and somedays it doesn't.
Fitness Programs: P90X
Pros: great when it works
Cons: not reliable
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>