Beachbody Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Beachbody
Shop Fitness Programs or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for INSANITY ®

INSANITY ®

Transform your body in 60 days with the most intense workout program ever put on DVD. Shaun T will push you past your limits to get the hardest body you've ever had. Plus 4 FREE gifts!
Average Customer Rating:
4.801 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(2948 Reviews) 2948
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 2,948 reviews
5 stars
2,292
4 stars
175
3 stars
51
2 stars
35
1 star
33
2,496 out of 2,586(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for INSANITY ®
Review 21 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lost 50 Pounds in 60 Days!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Egypt
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I went from 265 Pounds (120 KG) to 215 Pounds (97 KG)! LOST 50 POUNDS ! I LOVED THIS TRAINING!
I always was the fat kid in the school, the one who gets bullied at because of his weight.
That always made me less confident in myself but that wasn't the only thing, I had like the WORST level of fitness over.
Barely running for 10 seconds and when I tried to tie my shoes, I always get up trying to catch a breath.
It was not pretty, so I decided to change.
I saw the INSANITY infomercial at YouTube and said to myself "Why wouldn't I do that"
So I bought INSANITY and didn't do it!
That's right! I always start the first week (my best accomplishment was two and half week) then I quit over and over again.
Then came a moment of self-realization to myself, I keep thinking, I can't be like that, I am still young and got all the live ahead of me and I want to ENJOY it big time and that won't happen as long as I am overweight!
THEN THE JOURNEY STARTED
I started following the nutrition plan and doing the workouts (never missed a workout) and BRINGING IT.
One of the ways to make sure that I dug deeper that I get a family member to watch me so he/she can make sure that I am doing my best and if there wasn't anyone available, I would deeply immerse myself and imagine that I am at the insanity basketball court and that Shaun T is looking at me every time he looks to the Camera.
They were hard at the first two weeks, then things became easier one step at a time. I kept improving at my fit-test and things were going great.
Then at the end of the first month, I went to play soccer with my friends and boy! I was the fittest one of them, running the whole match, stretching my muscles to the max and being a powerhouse for an entire hour and a half! at that point, I realized that I am starting to enjoy life the way I want it.
Then came the second month which was deadly to me! the first three weeks were so hard but I KEPT pushing it because every time I remember this soccer match and how my shape is changing in the mirror, I know that those 63 days will keep me happy for the entire lifetime I have.
Finally, the journey ended as the fourth weeks of the second month came to an end (which I smashed it btw) I went from 265 pounds (120 kg) to 215 pounds (97 KG)! I lost 50 pounds in sixty days thanks to INSANITY.
There is no impossible, just bring it and have faith.
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO not waste your time and money, pick another one

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Germany
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First let me say I also did P90X and Rev Abs. In a few words I would say P90X is the best and Insanity is by far the WORST!! To say I disliked it is an understatement. I stuck to it, but it was a torture because I found it so BAD!.
On to why:
The videos themselves:
Functionality: P90X has a function for music and cues; just cues; all chatter etc. The first few times is fine to hear it all, but the jokes get old quick, so music and cues is a great option. Rev Abs and Insanity do not have this option.
Time counter: Insanity time counter is usually off, when the trainer counts seconds he actually counts to fast so it doesn't match to the second counter... its just irritating.
P90X has a great counter and its spot on.
Trainer: Ok, after a while all video trainers are irritating, but at least with music and cues you can shut them up :-) The trainer for Insanity only knows a few words "push, dig deeper..." I think that is about it and after a while it just makes you crazy and you cannot shut it off because there is no "cues only" option.
Most of all I REALLY REALLY disliked that he doesn't explain anything. I am not sure he knows, at least I got the impression that he doesn't know how to actually train. I am sure he is a good sportperson himself, but that is not the same as teaching.
Actual Workouts: Insanity is not so good, actually. Very repetitive, which makes is incredibly boring. You never quite get the hang of the logic, although of course I read the doc and saw the intro, but not as you do it. You never really know what is happening: why are you now doing what you are doing, what will you do next. And one other thing is that a lot of the routines are more complicated than they need to be, so you waste time looking at the screen.
If you are going to buy something buy P90X if you are interested in more aerobic, do more aerobic with P90X.
Oh, by the way, insanity did nothing to my body. Ok, I am pretty fit to begin with, but I saw NO change on Insanity. With P90X you actually see change. I got far better at my aerobic performance (running) on p90X than I did on insanity. I stayed the same, ok maybe some of the exercises… you practice, you get better, but nothing that I could feel happy about.
The only thing that insanity is good for is that you actually do not need anything to do it (i.e. weights, bands etc.).
Additional Programs: p90x and Rev abs
Pros: no props needed
Cons: Not effective, Did not meet expectations, bad cd function design, bad trainer (language tips etc), repetitive
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, Illinois
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a physician who, after not weighing myself for over 5 years...yes 5 years, was shocked into trying this product. On our spring break drive down to Orlando, I happened to weigh myself and noticed that I gained 10 pounds from my usual weight. I have always been active in the past, but with kids and a busy work schedule, it's been a challenge to keep up with any meaningful exercise routine over the past few years. These 10 pounds were a shocker to me, since I have perpetually had plans to actually lose 10-15 pounds...not gain 10! I tried other methods, including dumbbell routines, running, DVDs, but none helped me meaningfully lose weight, although they did make me feel better. After we returned from our trip, I immediately went online and purchased Insanity after a few quick reviews. After 63 days: I lost the 10 lbs plus the 15 I always wanted to lose and my waist size went down by 4-5 inches; I still can't fit into "skinny jeans", though, since my legs are actually muscular, not thin. I really like that the DVDs are just long enough and very manageable. No equipment means that the program is ultra portable as well and I only needed a couple of DVDs when I traveled to my conference. Most everyone I have met since ask whether I've lost weight and my closest friends and family are relieved because they didn't know I was trying to lose weight and thought I unintentionally lost weight due to an illness! I didn't do it for that effect, though. I did it to fulfill a lifelong battle with fluctuating weight and knowing, as a doctor, what obesity can do to me. Both of my parents have hypertension and even though I'll probably end up on some medication someday, I'd like to try to keep it as far away for as long as possible. It hasn't been easy, especially since I love to eat. However, the eating part hasn't been as hard as I thought, since the activity level allowed me to eat a sane amount of food and not starve myself. I didn't have a strict diet, but just knowing how many calories I needed per day allowed me to consciously think about what I'm putting into my body. Overall, I'm very satisfied and will continue to incorporate this into my daily exercise routine. Even my little kids love the name of the program and memorized Shaun T's routine at the beginning of every DVD. Thank you.
Additional Programs: I tried P90X, the DVDs were too long, too much equipment limited portability, and I just didn't enjoy some of the routines, especially the yoga.
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, very portable, no equipment, not too short not too long
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Started my @nd month and have not lost weight :S

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from toronto, Ontario
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Never sure how to write these things but here goes>>>>I have pretty much been working out and been concerned with my weight for as long as I can remember. I have always belonged to a gym, i run HIIT and have competed in figure competions and became a personal trainer I did all this after I had my son BT. Hhowever, this past year was a tough year and I have gone through some changes where I have not been able to work out the way i used to (I.E doing 2 workouts daily and supplementing like crazy, working with a coach... I was forced to also stop competin....sooo as a result of poor eating and exercise habitsI gained 80 pounds.... I needed to do something because i was depressed and finding it hard to break out of it......so after seeing infomercial after informercial for INSANITY I decided to try it. Now listen I am not new to the world of fitness, I am very aware of training, diet and what not...and I have always butsted my butt (i am the kind of person that will wake up at 3:45 in the morning before my son wakes up so i can work out) to be honest loosing weight in the past was not hard. BUT during the first month I have fluctuated by a pound.....up a pound, down a pound....and i started to question this program but i stuck with it....when the first 3 weeks past and nothing I started to run or do yoga or a 2nd insanity workout after>>>still nothing major...The annoying thing is when i jsut dieted before and didnt work out i lost more weight than i have now......Im not the kind of person to give up though....so i'm almost through the first week of the second month of INSANITY and am kinda annoyed at firstally the cardio abs is a repeat of the fist month and the 'max cardio' really repeats alot of moves from the max interval....really frustrated, i know all about eating frequently and smaller and I am eating less thant he recommended calories and that diet plan really isnt useful... I find it hard to believe that the amount of calories we burn do not exceed the amount we eat in that diet... I ate half the amount of carbs and fat when i was competing and had a nutrionist !!!! I am not saying that the workout isnt challenging and that i give it 110% every time....i am just saying that the poudns have not 'fallen off' and 50 pounds in 60 days is not accurate!!!
Pros: challenging workout moves
Cons: Not effective, Did not meet expectations, no dramatic weight loss
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The hardest I've worked out with disappointing res

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MN
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I started my Insanity trek with 2 workout buddies and also had a co-worker that was doing the program with some workout buddies as well. At first, the promise of amazing results is what kept all of us motivated but after month 1 of zero pounds lost by any of us, it was becoming frustrating. I definitely felt more toned but had no weight loss whatsoever. After completing the entire program, pushing myself harder and harder every week, I still lost no weight, nor did any of the others. How can this be? All of us were of different fitness levels and still, no weight lost. My diet was healthier than usual, and since I was burning so many calories with the workouts, I expected to lose at least a little. I am stronger than before, no doubt about that, but I my expectations were not met. This was the hardest I've ever worked out in my life and I was so determined to keep pushing, that every day, I kept waiting to see an improvement that was as remarkable as some of the other reviews. Admittedly, I did not do any of the Shakeology stuff, but my friend did and she didn't see any weight loss either. Maybe I am too hung up on what the scale says. I did not measure but my jeans are no looser either. One impressive result that I must say is that my blood pressure, which has always been very good, was about ten points lower after week 7, so there are benefits that you cannot see. It's just that since my BP was good before, I didn't really care if it went down.
I feel like if you want to lose weight, change what you eat and focus on that. If you want to tone, do Insanity, don't expect weight loss from it.
My concern now is that I have worked so hard at this video series that I don't just want to quit because I did feel like I was improving a little every week. I am tired of the same repetition so I need to switch it up but I'm not sure I'll be challenged with whatever I do next. I also don't want to work that hard again, for that length of time, and not get the results I'm after. Out of the seven of us that have completed Insanity, none of us plans to do it again, at least not right away.
If someone is looking for a challenge, I would recommend Insanity. Just don't have any expectations or you'll end up disappointed like me.
Additional Programs: P90X
Pros: lowered my blood pressure
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lost 12 pounds in 3 weeks!

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, KS
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was impressed with Insanity and Shawn T is right when he says that if you have the drive to do it, you'll see results. I am obese and yet, I was drawn to that program. I did what I could every workout even if I had to take lots of breaks and drink lots of water. I did this for 3 weeks before I knew it was too much and I had to switch to an easier program before going on to month two. But in that 3 weeks I saw incredible results and can't wait to get back and do the entire program!
I will say that the exercises are repetitive so if you get board easily, like my sister in law, you might not care for it but it you are looking for results here in you will find them if you dig deeper. Additionally, because this is very high intensity cardio it is hard on your knees and includes a lot of high impact jumping so if you are unable to do those types of exercises, it is not the program for you. I have issues with one knee and I was able to modify somewhat but there are some jumping exercises I just simply could not do so I would jog through them or do a different exercise like squats. But the program doesn't suggest this is for beginners so no complaints. When they say you should check with you doctor before beginning, they really mean it. This is really important if you have any health issues.
As far as space goes, there is a lot of movement in this program so I often felt limited in my very small living room. but I was still able to make it work with limited modifications.
I loved the fact that there was no equipment required and that is what initially drew me to the program. Even though it is still an intense workout for all your muscles. My body was sore the first week but after that it got better.
Over all, I lost 12 pounds and 9 1/2 inches during the three weeks I did Insanity and learned the importance of eating enough food. The meal plan included is really not an option. There is a reason they suggest eating the way they do.
Great program for nutrition and exercise! Not for novices but if you are determined you can get it done. I did it for three weeks and I'm obese! I just wish I had taken before and after pictures because I saw such a difference in my arms & thighs doing this program!
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, no equipment, encouraging
Cons: repetitive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Workout!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow. This workout is intense and I start to sweat within minutes and continue to even after it ends. I absolutely LOVE this product though. I'm 26 years old and almost 300 pounds. I use to workout to a dance dvd and walk, but that didn't stick and I didn't get the results I wanted from it. I wanted to become healthier and fit, not just walk around all the time and dance without really doing much. The dance dvds are fine, but INSANITY is amazing. On the first day for the Fit Test, I failed miserably and I can't do some of the moves since I have so much weight on me, but I still tried. When I couldn't do certain moves, then I did others that I could do so that my heart rate would stay up. The workouts are intense, but great. I use to hate sweating and working out... or doing much activity at all, but now I love it. I look forward to doing the workouts and using this new energy I have. This is the first week and I'm already seeing results. I have lost almost five pounds, have more stamina, and strength! I use to be a weakling, and I still need major improvement, but I can already feel my muscles getting stronger.
If you are thinking about taking the Insanity challenge, do it. Do not push yourself past your breaking point, but push yourself. You will see results and get in better shape. I'm already telling people about it since it's already making a difference in my body. I thought I couldn't do it until I really started watching the commercial for it and saw that some of the people on there had weight issues like me... not just skinny people wanting abs... although that's fine too. haha But seeing people pushing through it and getting insane results did it for me and I committed to the Insane challenge. So go for it. Go to the website or call and just do it. You won't regret it and you'll see a difference.
I cannot wait to see what the rest of the 60 days has in store for me! Shaun T is a great instructor as well. He helps push and motivate people, but makes sure they are safe while working out. Thanks so much for this workout! Finally a challenge that allows me to see results. I'm actually proud of myself for sticking with this. I will update once I complete the 60 day challenge.
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, a much needed challenge
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best investment I have made in years.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA.
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very skeptical when it comes to info-mercials, but when I saw this advertisement late one night I was very interested in learning more about the program via the internet, which I did. I purchased it and after going through the materials and going through the Fit Test for the first time, I knew right then I had a real challenge in front of me. It was a challenge that delivered great visual and personal results. I'm just an average 39 year old guy with no extra special atheltic talents. For me, this was the most challenging and demanding workout program since my teenage freestyle wrestling days. Shaun T. was an outstanding motivator who pushed me in a positive way which helped me to push myself at my own personal maximum output through every workout. I was so out of shape when I started the program I was out of breath and light headed when Shaun T. was ready for the pre-workout stretching. In fact, I'll never forget I had the toughest time just trying to get though the stretching exercises with sweat pouring down my face and my kids looking at me like, "What the heck dad..." I have worked out with free weight programs in my garage gym and I have been running since my teenage years. However, I suffered several injuries over the years which set me back. My most serious injury was when I herniated a disc in my back (L5) about six years ago. I fell out from the good shape I was in and it took a good eighteen months before my back was once again strong enough where I felt capable to workout and actually go for a good jog on my treadmill. I lost the high level of motivation I had to push myself like I used to, but I saw and felt it again when I saw Shaun T.'s enthusiasm on the info-mercial. I did not want to send in pictures of myself for the T-shirt, but now that I have completed the program having given each workout my best effort, I now see that it is a trophy I wish I had to display. I lost weight in areas I haven't been able to lose weight, and I strengthened muscles in places my workout programs didn't. This was money well spent and a program I can do two or three times every year supplemented with my free weight routines and running.
Additional Programs: none
Pros: exceeded my expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lost a lot of weight

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a baby, was on bed rest during pregnancy and unfortunately gained 75 lbs. I love being a mother, the only downside was that I wanted to fit into my clothes that I wore before I had my baby. I yearned to feel like my old self again. The extra weight I was carrying around made me tired and it was a struggle finding clothes to wear for events. My husband was inspired one morning watching the commercial. He said "Why not do the hardest thing we can find?". My number one reason for recommending this program is that the work you put in, sweating and jumping around, pays dividends. I follow the nutrition program strictly in the week, but I do cheat on Sunday's when you have a day off. I can be good all week knowing I can have what I crave on that day. The benefit of seeking out healthy meals is that you will start craving some good things too, you forget about dieting. I lost 30 lbs in the first three weeks of doing Insanity. I felt really good again. People who knew me stared, I even saw a jaw drop. I went for a 2 mile hike in the mornings to stretch my limbs, then followed with insanity at night after the baby went to bed. My husband also lost 20 lbs, doing the same things. After 6 weeks and tweaking his diet a bit more he is down 65 lbs and I'm down 60 lbs. This really works, we are addicted and love the way you feel in the mornings. It makes other physical activities easier. I ran 6 miles the other day, at first wanting to loosen up my legs and I kept going because it felt so good. Insanity has improved my cardio so much. I am a heart patient and love what it has done for my endurance. I strongly recommend this product, it will challenge you. Yes it is hard but so are the results. You become tight and toned. You don't need a lot of space to do it in, just go at your own pace at first and then you will get stronger and get more out of the program. Also when you are done, you can start it over again. The fitter you become, the faster you move during each set, getting greater results. This program helped transform my body into pre-baby shape, it lifts and tones, and my butt for sure never looked this good before!!
Pros: Met expectations, very affordable with payment plan
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to adjust to own level

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boise, ID
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried Turbo Jam and found it hard to adjust to my level. It just went TOO fast. Before I could figure out what move I was supposed to do, she was on to the next. Insanity is so different and I'm so happy to not have dance moves. This is just PURE exercise. I haven't used the music because I can keep at my own pace better that way. Maybe I'll add that in on the next go around.
All the moves are done to the top performer, so you won't have physical examples of how to adapt to your own lack of fitness. I'm sorely out of shape and over weight and way too heavy to attempt all those jumps but I simply do the moves to the proper form he expects in a "walk" mode. He emphasizes that is most important. He also incorporates stretching at the beginning and end which I've been looking for. I don't really think you need physical examples of how to adjust the program for low impact. Do what ever you can do!
I often find myself simply reaching high, bending low, side stepping, walking in place, marching with high knees instead of the high knee jumps, I started with holding the position of push ups without having to bend the arms. ALL his moves can be done in a "walk" mode. I pause when he takes a 30 second break, to make mine 45 sec. again because he wants you to recover. I find I can't always finish the set, but I'm so happy he isn't doing only 2 moves and on to the next. There are sufficient moves of each kind that you can gauge how you are improving and not having to worry about trying to keep up.
I found that after just the 3rd day, I was able to move faster and with a little more spring to the step. I can sometimes continue all the way through to the end of each rotation without having to stop and rest. I'm absolutely sure that by the end of 60 days I'll be able to do the moves more like the performers, but even if not, this exercise program is perfect to adjust in so many ways I'll be able to use it over and over again until I do reach the ability to jump and move faster.
So, don't let your obesity stop you from the Insanity challenge! We can do it too.
Thanks Shaun T and Beachbody!
Additional Programs: Tried Turbo Jam.
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, adjustable, gets heart pumping!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SEAN T. IS INSANE AND WE LOVE IT!!!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a 40 year old female, my husband's 49. My husband avidly works out at the gym, but needed a push. I hated the drives to the gym, and needed something that challenged me. After running track, playing basketball, and being super athletic in school, I had 3 children, and couldn't shake the weight. I earned 3 kickboxing certificates in college, and still have not maintained the "shape" I wanted. I am in the middle of week 4 of INSANITY, and it kicks my butt every day. I never sweated in school, and the coach used to tell me that wasn't good. SEAN T. has me pouring sweat as if I came out of a pool. It literally pours from my head, eyes, and body! It feels so good. At first, I could barely do most of the workouts, and the fitness test was getting the best of me. I have gotten so much better at each exercise, and each day, my body looks for the workout. My body is transforming, my 14 year old told me so. My husband who used to never want to leave the gym does both now, but he does INSANITY every day, and the gym maybe twice per week. SEAN T. and the BEACH BODY CREW are awesome.
What I like most is that his workout crew are real people like us! They fall out in the floor just like we do. Some on here say the crew should be able to keep up, but I don't think so. . . that's what caught my attention (It wasn't so routine like other videos) , and the fact that they all couldn't keep up no matter the size. I was watching SEAN T. on an infommercial one day, and started sweating, my husband and I laughed.
My friend of 27 years was using it for awhile now, and she has lost so much weight. She is smaller than she was in high school, and although I went to therapy for a severely sprained ankle and minor break, nothing worked, not even the therapy. They told me in order to desensitize it, I had to use it. I asked my best friend to order it for me since she now teaches the class. This did the job big time. I sweat, and I love it!
He definitely kicks it up into high gear because any time I'm ready to quick he yells, "COME ON Y'ALLLLLLLL!" I will let you know the results when I get there.
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, sometimes mj's ultimate dance experice on wii
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Insanely amazing

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After 7 years of working a mostly sedentary job and giving birth to two amazing girls I looked in the mirror and realized I had become... a marshmallow. It turns out that having a full time job plus motherhood = no time to work out. I decided it was time to remedy the situation so I bought the Insanity workout program.
I can not say enough good things about Insanity. It is for anyone of any fitness level, don't let other reviewers throw you off or give you an excuse to wimp out. I was in full on couch potato mode when I started, I hadn't seen a gym in over 5 years. The great thing is you DON'T have to go as fast as the folks in the video. You can go slower. You can take breaks if you need them, which most people will. You work to your ability and as your ability increases, you can do more, work harder. When I started there were several excersizes I simply could not do. Push up jacks for one. Now I can do 30 in one minute.
How long have I been at it you ask? A year? 6 months? No... try 30 days, I'm only halfway through the program. I started at a pudgy 140lbs (I'm 4'10", thats nearly obese at my height) and in a mere 30 days I weigh 128. I am not following the meal plan, however, I am counting calories and limiting my intake. I am also hitting the gym 4 days a week in addition to the Insanity DVDs 6 days a week. The results are amazing. I'm melting like a gd snowman. My resting heart rate went from 72 to 55 in 30 days. I kid you not.
I have so much more energy. Before I would get winded walking around the zoo. Now I haul both of my kids in their wagon (combined 80lbs) around the zoo for hours and feel fine, barely break a sweat. Phenomenal.
My female coworkers are jealous, the boys are astounded that a girl is doing the Insanity program. They're all flabbergasted as they watch the marshmallow transform into... a MILF. And the husband? Happy happy happy and he's doing the DVDs too. He's turning into quite the beefcake himself. Rawr.
I plan to continue the program, well, for a long time. Let's see where it takes me. I think it is going to be somewhere good.
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, not too time consuming
Cons: not for those with any joint difficulties
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Understand what your getting

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Results 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I like this, it was a fun diversion and it is effective if you understand what is is doing and how to use it effectively. What I mean by that, is that this is a good product for a very specific goal. It is extremely cardio oriented with just enough resistance in it to keep you from loosing muscle, but not enough to gain any except maybe a bit in the legs and abs.
My big concern is that the going idea is push harder and harder, go faster and faster, but alway maintain good form and never over exert yourself, which is a fine line at best, and nearly impossible at times in all practicality. Because you can always go faster and do more, it is interesting and give you good goals to push for, but you can easily go to far and start burning muscle instead of fat because of the general nature of the program.
For long term fitness and weight control, I would still go with a P90X (1 or 2) program as they build more complete body and I think will get most people the body they really want. This program is great if you are trying to look and perform like a soccer player, small tight, and quick and agile. I think most people want a frame with a bit more quality quality size on it (i.e. muscle) to give the shape they want. I found it almost laughable that he says that "cardio is the best way to shape your body", cardio will make you thin and wirey (look at distance runner and triatheletes), but resistance training gives you shape (look at fitness models - who also use cardio).
I personally lost about 20 pounds (3 months) with P90X2 - then tried insanity and lost about 3-5 pounds (2 months) but my body fat percentage did not go down at all, which means I was loosing muscle as well. Then went back to P90X2 and lost another 7-8 pounds (2 months) and bodyfat percentage went down.
With any program you got to be willing to work to get results, I think insanity can be very effective if you know what to expect and what you will get. But I believe it is a good tool to have in your belt, but definately not an all encompassing program for everyone.
Additional Programs: P90X2
Pros: Met expectations, great stretching routing, fairly short workouts, no playing around - starts quickly
Cons: cardio is not best long term solution (imho), can easily get in to anarobic mode, exercises can get very repetitive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE ONLY WORKOUT THAT WORKED FOR ME!

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster PA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok so I have P90Xed (great program just not for me) I have Turbo Jamed (again great program love her) HOWEVER after I Insanity'ed' I FINALLY saw results. I lost 7 inches in my waist, 5 in my chest, 5 in my hips, 2.5 in each thigh and .5 in my arms (that one was mostly my fault I have week wrists and do all the push ups on my knees :). When i first started Insanity I could not even get through the first round of the warm up -yeah no kidding - after four kids, being 5'4" and weighing 250lbs at the time of delivery with my fourth - i was more than out of shape. I started insanity when my youngest was 5 - i was not quite 250 but i was large enough. I am at the edge of turning 40 and decided i needed a lifstyle change. Being ex-Navy i knew it would have to be a "boot camp" kind of thing which is why i so love this workout - i like to get my rump kicked and get out no need for all the froo froo fluffy stuff. my first two weeks my calfs felt like they were going to explode out of my skin - i couldnt breathe during the cardio and i was in shock at just how bad of shape i was in BUT NOW i have found muscles i never thought id see again - i have lost a total of 20 inches in 90days (and still losing) i have kept up with insanity doing it at least three times a week for a year now. i have kept off what i lost and im getting ready for round two. i cannot thank Shaun T enough he is excellent in the videos - great at keeping you going. this work out is very tough BUT WORTH IT i have tried everything in the past never thought id wear a bathing suit again but i am - i so totally deserve the T-shirt i just wished i would have taken pics :) i am down from a 16ish to a 10 sometimes 8 depends on the brand and i am thrilled to see just how far i can get my body to go. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH. YOU HAVE GIVEN ME MY LIFE BACK IN MORE WAYS THAN YOU KNOW NOT JUST SOCIALY BUT I KNOW I WILL LIVE LONGER DO TO THIS PROGRAM AND OF COURSE IM MUCH HAPPIER. - hugs Jenn from Lancaster PA
Additional Programs: I have done a little of p90x i just cannot get over his annoyingness to do that program - i have done turbo jam i actually love it and Chalene and now just purchased her turbo fire for a supplement to the insanity i need a new insanity program ;) i just want something different for a bit but i will never give up insanity it seriously is the ONLY program that ever ever worked for me with the exception of boot camp lol
Pros: Very effective, exceeded my expectations
Cons: be prepared to be very sore :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect if you are looking for more cardio!

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Montana
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After completeing a round of P90X, I decided that I wanted something heavier on the cardio so purchased Insanity. I have definitely not been disappointed! I thought I would be in shape after P90X, but the first week of Insanity blew me away and it was hard to keep up.
After doing the first month of Insanity (easier and shorter workouts than the second month) I went back and did the P90X Plyometric workout just for kicks, and found it to be EASY. Before Insanity, Plyo was the toughest of all the workouts for me, so if anything it says a lot about how much farther I've been able to push my body!
I would recommend this for anyone who feels they need to get their endurance level up and really advance in their all around training. The interval style training of high intensity, fast paced moves followed by a 30 second rest period has been the most effective thing I have ever done for getting my body to move faster and with more strength. Before P90X I had done years of running and yoga, only to realize that I really have to push myself a lot harder than just running a few miles every day or doing a 90 minute yoga session every other day in order to get my endurance level up.
I would also caution beginners with this. I know there are people who have not worked out in a very long time, and have been able to do this without too much of a problem. But I have already talked to a couple of people who were fairly athletic, and had hurt themselves doing Insanity simply because their bodies were not strong enough to handle some of the higher impact moves. Just a caution to please be careful and try to land softly with all of the jumping and landing.
Overall - I see myself doing this program for a long time, simply because of how good I feel and how much I have seen my athletic abilities improve. In the future I will probably do a combination of P90X and Insanity, since P90X is simply awesome for strength training in specific areas.
Thank you!
Additional Programs: P90X, Brazil Butt Lift
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
Cons: perhaps not for beginners
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible

PostedOctober 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
Initially, I was skeptical of this product. Yes, it looked extremely difficult on the info-mercials I watched, but I am one of those consumers who has never been confortable with products sold in this manner. However, Insanity has changed my viewpoint completely.
I consider myself to be athletic and working out has been a major part of my life since my freshman 15! After moving, I wasn't sure if I wanted to invest in a gym membership given my commute to and from work is over an hour. I really wanted something that would mix things up, challenge me, but allow me to work out from the convenience of my home. I debated between Insanity and other programs for some time, but ultimately made the decision to go with Insanity due to the fact I did not have to invest in other tools and the time frame or the program and work outs were less time consuming. Don't be mislead, although this is a 60-day work out system and the workouts are generally 45-60 minutes, you get your time and money's worth!
I decided when I started the program that I would stick to the plan as it was written. I posted my calendar and followed the nutrition plan as best as I could. I made sacrifices to ensure that I got my work outs in everyday, and made sure I enjoyed my Sunday rests! I am completing my last week of Insanity, and can say that I've only missed 3 workouts (life happens). But, after only 3 weeks, I lost 2 inches in my waiste which was enough to motivate me to stick with it. Altough I was very active in high school and I have always made working out 3-5 times a week a priority, I am in the best shape of my life.
As a former gym employee and a client of a personal trainer, believe me when I say this program produces results. When popping in the dvd, it truly seems Sean T is in the room pushing you just as if you were at the gym with your PT.
My recommendation, try it... you won't consider returning it after 30 days... unless you choose not to "dig deeper."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One month in! A woman's perspective

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Austin TX
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 28 and have been physically fit and athletic my whole life. But when I started Insanity, I wasn't in good shape...could barely run a mile. Considering I wasn't overweight- I do have a goal of losing 15-20 lbs. One month in, I've lost 10!! You can start noticing results in about 2 wks because my clothes were looser and there was less to grab on my sides. This was hugely motivating because other workouts I've done and going to the gym didn't result in anything...almost as if before I was maintaining my weight but not losing. If you feel stuck and want to be leaner and more toned, get this video. It's a break from routine and you feel it in different areas after the diff workouts, which is why it's so effective. It only takes 40 min and 20 of it is actual intensive workouts. Don't be discouraged if you were like me when you do Day 1 and think you may pass out. Then you are painfully sore through week one and into week two. Keep doing it. Try doing it with someone...it's more motivating. There's a clock running on the bottom and you get quick breaks to pull it together. Don't push it if you have bad knees like me, for example, I can't go all the way down into a deep lunge, so I just do a basic lunge. You don't have an excuse not to do it bc it's not even an hour long and you can do it at home.
Since I'm one month in, I notice how the videos can get kinda boring bc you memorize them, but perfect timing for my annoyance to kick in since I'm about to start month 2 and get all new workouts.
Be sure you watch what you eat. I'm not cutting to the extreme but did cut out sugar, soda, fast food, etc. Don't think you can only do the video and eat what you want! I recommend this workout to all my friends and after the 60 days, I'm going back to yoga twice a week and insanity twice a week. It's become habit to see Shaun T everyday, I'll miss him too much! Good luck!!
Additional Programs: None
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you do it, it will work...and may surprise you

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Whitehouse, TX
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought about ordering Insanity for months before doing so, and my only regret is not doing it sooner. I was concerned about my joints after reading some reviews, because I have had some issues with my knees and shoulder. After a few days, one knee started bothering me. I got a brace for it and was careful to "land softly" with proper positioning, and even avoided a few of the moves that aggravated it over the next couple of weeks. By being careful and going at my own pace, I am now brace free and pain free. My joints feel better than they have in 20 years. For those with similar concerns, try it out. Listen to your body and be smart. Push yourself, but don't hurt yourself. If it is too hard on your joints, STOP! I am only in my 4th week and I'm seeing results that make me anxious for day 60. I wanted to lose my beer gut and love handles while strengthening and toning. I have already lost most of the gut and am starting to see indentions where the "handles" had been. I have not followed the nutrition program, but I have been eating healthier. More fruits, vegetables, chicken, fish and turkey. No fast food lunches. I FEEL BETTER and I look forward to the workouts. I have more energy and stamina. Given that I am just nearing the midway point of the program, and seeing the transformation underway, I can tell you IT WORKS! I have to thank the band, SHINEDOWN, for making me aware of Insanity and inspiring me with their results! I plan to post another review after completing the 60 days. In the meantime, if you have been considering Insanity, don't wait any longer. It is hard! As a daytime desk jockey and evening couch potato, I was embarrased by my first Fit Test, and I had to ease into the program, building up the strength and respiration needed. Put your mind to it and do it! You may even be pleasantly surprised by some unexpected benefits, as I have been!
Additional Programs: None
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, allows you to go at your own pace, convenience
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good but approach with CAUTION

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from toronto
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Insanity is the best, but it is not for the faint of heart or the out of shape. Personally, I have always favored the nuts and bolts approach - I like things simple and straightforward and Insanity is right up my alley. Shaun T is that rare trainer who is not overly verbose, egocentric and long winded, he is there to make you sweat. Tony Horton is more in the verbose style, but he is likeable enough to pull it off.
Ok the workouts - this is HIIT (high intensity interval training) and it requires that you be in good shape to begin with (and not I often take the stairs instead of the esclator so I am in good shape). Like the excellent p90x this has a fit test, but unlike p90x this is not an inclusive exercise program in that you cannot really just do it until you get better (I suppose you could but it would probably just depress and defeat you). Let me tell you that the warmups for these videos are insane; you go through 30 second rotations that wind you, then you stretch and go through your intervals.
Exercises include things with the daunting word "POWER" as in power jacks, power jumps, power pushups, power knees. So if you are starting out I urge you to hold off on this and start with either Turbo fire or the classic p90x, which has cardio and plyo workouts that approach, but do not actually match, the work you will have to do in Insanity.
Also this is more of a cardio workout - if your aim is to become MR. Universe, or single handedly invade Botswana, steer clear of this - it is for people who want a more well rounded fitness program.
One last thing, and this is more of a general suggestion, when you start exercising it often takes you a few tries to find your niche, if this isn't for you try something else, but if you are looking for a hard, intense workout that will definitely give you results, then Insanity is the best.
Additional Programs: p90x, turbofire
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, fast results
Cons: hard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for INSANITY ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard Work, Great Results

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Middletown, NJ
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They call it Insantiy for a reason. It is really hard work. But if you just do your best everyday and keep at it it is worth it. I am just starting my second round of the Insanity videos. The first time I lost 20 pounds in two months!!! I have a 9 month old baby and I am back to my pre-pregnancy weight. And I reached my goal! My new goal is to lose 10 more this time around.
The first time I followed the meal plan which to me was not bad at all. I felt like I ate more than I did normally so I wasn't hungry. This time I will follow it again, but tweak it a bit to suit me better.
When I started insantiy I was not in tip top shape. I did not work out while I was pregnant. A year after I had my first child (who is 7 now) I started BILLY BLANKS BOOT CAMP-The original boot camp (which I loved and found challenging at this time) I would recommend Boot Camp for beginners and just suggest you do the best you can until you master it. I had never exercised before using Boot Camp. And was in the best shape of my life after using it. And I used this on and off doing the treadmill in between until i became pregnant with my second. I tried it again after my second child but found that it was no longer as much of a challenge as it once was. That is when I found Insanity I would recommend Insanity to anyone looking for a challenge that has at least a little exercise background.
I will say to be careful with your knees and ankles. During my first month, around the third week my ankles were killing me. It even hurt just to walk. So I took a week off and started using ankle supports. This time around I use the ankle supports from the beginning. I would suggest using extra support for ankles or knees as soon as you start to feel pain when not exercising. This way you will not have to waste a week like I did to heal. Love Insanity! And Shawn T!
Additional Programs: Billy Blanks Boot Camp
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 137 next>>