Beachbody Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Beachbody
Shop Fitness Programs or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.762 out of 5
4.797 out of 5
4.375 out of 5

Customer Reviews for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®

INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®

Shaun T preps you to WIN with sports-specific training inspired by pro athletes. This 30-day program includes drills to maximize your speed, coordination, agility, and power. Commit and you?ll be ready for game day—every day.
Average Customer Rating:
4.715 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(267 Reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 267 reviews
5 stars
214
4 stars
39
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
2
258 out of 267(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Review 1 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not like Insanity

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Canada
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Results 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After going through the Insanity workout dvds (I stretched the schedule over two extra weeks), I was a bit bored with the workouts. I went on to purchase the Asylum and was super excited to start something new.
However, I got bored even faster than with Insanity. I didn't even finish the full 30 days because I was just so bored (hence: my results review may be biased).
In summary:
- The workouts are hard, but really not in the same way as with Insanity. With Insanity, you are completely dead at the end. With the Asylum, you push hard and you're tired at the end...but I don't know, the feeling is not the same.
- Shaun-T's coaching style is really different in the Asylum. In Insanity, he's happy and motivating and supportive. With the Asylum, I found he's approach to be more rough. Personally, I need to be encouraged - not threatened to be kicked in the butt - to perform well. I preferred the softer approached he had in Insanity.
- Buy yourself another jump rope because the one they provide you with is horrible!
- You need a LOT of space to do the workouts.
- I think the workouts focus a bit too much of your back and pecs. There are a lot of exercises for the lats, pecs and lower back -- so it's really repetitive.
- I didn't see any results.
Additional Programs: Insanity
Pros: hard workout
Cons: Did not meet expectations, repetitive, need a lot of space, not as hard as insanity
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great program after finishing Insanity!!!

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Results 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I finished Insanity and wanted more of a challenge so I tried Asylum and love it! It definitely works you hard with little breaks in between. You need alot of space especially for Speed & Agility bc you'll be doing lots of jump ropes and bear crawls. Definitely recommend doing after graduating from Insanity.
Additional Programs: Insanity, Brazilian Butt Lift
Pros: Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am committed to the asylum

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I am exceptionally pleased with the results I have so far with Shaun T's Asylum. I completed my 60 days of Insanity and as a result I lost a whopping 28 pounds and 6 inches off my waist! I was amazed and ready to take it to the next level with the Asylum. With Insanity, I lost the weight and with this next step I was really hoping to see the tightening and toning process more. I am on day 16, just did my Game Day and Overtime and all I gotta say is DANG!!!! I already see the results and am just so pleased. He kicks your butt, but you feel so amazing at the end of each work out. Shaun T has truly inspired me. No looking back now. DIG DEEPER PEOPLE!!! AND YOU WILL SEE THE RESULTS. TRUST ME. MUCH LOVE TO YOU SHAUN T, for helping me reach my fitness goals and go beyond that!!!!
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All Sports Moves

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chester, VA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just like Shaun motivation and I wanted to try a different workout from him and it's cool that you use weigh, ladder, jump rope and overall you feel like you play all the sports. Even though I didn't loose any weight I'm happy I completed the program and now I'm in the Vol. 2 which uses more weights and focus more in the abs but I really liked Insanity the most.
Additional Programs: INSANITY, ASYLUM 2
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A step above Insanity

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After the 60-day Insanity I decided to move to the next level. The Asylum is a nice step above as it forces you to perform many of the moves while you are in control of your body. One reviewer here complained that the ladder "never stays in place." Well, as Sean-T keeps yelling--DON'T HIT THE LADDER. I absolutely love the implementation of this simple piece of equipment. It gives you tangible goals and forces you to keep your form.
Following this program you will likely have larger shoulders and, perhaps more importantly, better balance/coordination and quicker feet. I noticed the first time I completed Speed and Agility it felt anemic. It didn't seem like much of a workout because I spent a decent amount of time figuring out the moves. However, subsequent attempts at this became progressively more difficult until the last two times when I felt like I was going to vomit. I recommend watching Speed and Agility, pausing, and practicing the moves until you are proficient. Only then will you get the most out of your first week. The addition of Overtime is also very useful. Whenever you are having one of those days where you feel unstoppable, you can add this to the end of your normal workout as a sort of burn-out session that hits arms and legs.
I would say the biggest con is that you need so much more room than Insanity and it is nearly impossible to do this with another person. You will likely need a 12' x 14' space to do all of the movements completely unrestricted--but you could cope with less if needed. I HIGHLY recommend getting a set of small power bands and rubberized hex dumbbells (some of the workouts would make use of strength bands difficult and plate dumbbells impossible). I bought a non-rubberized hex dumbbell set and some of the moves have you grip the hexes; they get slick with sweat and I have nearly lost my brain a few times.
This is definitely an awesome program that I will rearrange and repeat; but for now, on to Volume 2.
Additional Programs: Insanity, Insanity: The Asylum Volume 1
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, gives you control over your body
Cons: requires a lot of space
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Results

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Marion, Ma.
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did Vol I and II back-to-back with a recovery week in between them. I lost 8 lbs of blubber around the waist, and put several inches on my back/chest, shoulders, and legs. Strength levels increased steadily (went from using 35lbs to 50lbs dumbells on all weight training excercises in the space of 8 weeks!). I am doing a recovery week and plan on starting the 60-day hybrid of Vol 1 and II thereafter! I would love to have the Asylum t-shirts, but I no longer have my proof of purchase :-(.
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Insanity Vol. 1 and 2

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 53, an orthopedic surgeon and an average athlete. I've completed P90X, P90X+, Insanity, P90X2 and now both Asylum vol. 1 and 2. Asylum by far and away is the best home-based DVD cardiovascular workout on the market. Now it's time to try some hybrid programs!
Additional Programs: P90X, P90X+, P90X2 and Insanity
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not worth the buy

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, Ok
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I found that even though I thought I was getting a great workout at the end of the month, the only difference was my back was a little stronger. I would have had more success if I had trained with my original techniques.
Pros: good consistent cardio
Cons: Did not meet expectations, just not hardcore enough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pushes you to the limit!

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Montreal, Canada
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
It's a great workout. I makes you sweat and makes you push hard mentally and physically. It's great!
Additional Programs: P90X, P90X+, Insanity, Insanity fast&Furious, Insanity Sport training, Turbo Fire, Mills Pump
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved Asylum! and I don't do sports

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bell, Ca
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Well, first off I was expecting Asylum to be twice as hard as Insanity. If you finished Insanity this is for you! I love the fact that you use dumbbells, the agility ladder and the power bands. It just feels like you have improved every single muscle by the end of the month. I lost 6 pounds and some 6 inches all around, but best of all ..I feel so much stronger and faster!
I never used the speed rope because I don't have enough space..but I still felt a good workout everyday.
Additional Programs: Turbo Fire, Insanity, Rev Abs
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, motivating, fun
 
My product recommendations
 
E&E Energy and Endurance™
4.2 out of 5(102)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is legit.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kingsford, Michigan
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
The product Insanity - The Asylum is awesome for getting into shape but for reaching max potential in sports performance. It breaks down the main elements of athletes for training properly; back to core, strength, speed and agility, relief, game day and when you think it's over it goes into over time! It is so simple yet so complex on how the program was produced. Each tape varies and isolates a specific area to make "your game" TWO steps better than your opponents. It starts with the basics that many athletes over think which is control mentally and control over the body. Once the control is achieved then speed, height and agility come into play having your perform at your max level. Personally I related the techniques of the fitness program to my daily life also. Doing the little To-Do Lists everyday and small tasks that will eventually lead up to my long term goals.
Additional Programs: Insanity
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, muscle isolation, varied workout tapes
Cons: warm-up/cool-down times, stretching time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Demanding/Hardcore Workout

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honestly this is by far the best home fitness workout out there. I love p90 and p90x2 but Shaun T's the asylum is completely hardcore. I am pretty fit and have been working out consistently for 8 years and when I purchased this dvd it was a whole new ball game. New moves you haven't seen before and you will sweat intensely every time. I absolutely love the workout, my only wish is that they had more then 6 dvd in the package because I want more of the craziness. If you want to push yourself and get your body to the next level this is the dvd to get.
Additional Programs: p90x, p90x2, turbofire, rockin body and insanity
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, intense
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT WORK OUT

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fuquay Varina, NC
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Asylum is a very demanding workout. It is by far the best beachbody work out that I have done. I done everything from Chalean extreme to P90X to both insanitys. Asylum takes the cake. It gets you results quick but definately not painless. One of the toughest ones I have done. By far exceeds any expectations. I have had this product over a year now and I finished it once before. But was not content with the results (my own fault, my eating habits were terrible). This time around is different. I am not on the best diet but I definately eat better.
Additional Programs: P90X, Insanity, Chalean Extreme.
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great workout!

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maine
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
It has kicked by butt! I've worked out for years and this one is killer. Vertical plyo is insane, I almost vomited the first time I did it. What a great feeling when you finish. Love Shaun T and his workouts. I'm really not looking forward to doing vertical plyo again. Lol. Just kidding, I'm ready for it, and it's going to kick my butt again I'm sure!
Additional Programs: P90X, insanity
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, i felt it the next day. i love that!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best workout I have ever done!!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tracy, CA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Insanity Asylum was no joke at all, from day 1 to day 30 there was no workout where i was absolutely exhausted and out of breath. I was covered in my own sweat literally but it felt amazing when i was done each day. I started off at 19% body fat and at the end of just one month i dropped down to 9% body fat. Also my chest, back and basically every part of my body got so much stronger, and toned up its kinda ridiculous how this is all thanks to Asylum. All i know is that i wont give up on Asylum i cant wait to turn it back on and press play each and every day.
Thanks Shaun T.
Additional Programs: Insanity
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MUST HAVE FOR INSANITY GRAD!

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this workout is great. it is tough and demanding not on physically but also mentally. Anyone who has done Insanity must get this program to take themselves to the next level. results guaranteed in 30 days. loll on day 6 i was already down over 2 % body-fat
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice twist with the laddder and jump rope

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Beckley, Wv
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I graduated Insanity when I started I weighed 206 pds after the 60 days I weighed 173 pounds. I had lost 33 pounds and was amazed at the results but I wanted to try something that I thought would get me more ripped and boy is this it. I am amazed at the definition all over my body from the arms, to chest, back and definately abs. I have two days left in the program and now I weigh 166 I really wasn't wanting to drop anymore weight but this program is so tough its hard not to. As other people have said a lot of the warmups are harder than the regular Insanity workouts. Vertical Plyo is a beast and Gameday with Overtime is complete murder. This is by far the best workout program I have tried to date. If you want extreme results fast this is the program for you but you had better be in some kind of cardio shape or I think you will spend most of your time laying in the floor gasping for breath. There isn't timed breaks like in Insanity and the breaks are few and far between but if you try this program and push yourself there is no way you won't see results. Starting next week I am going to do the Asylum and P90 X hybrid. Thanks to Shaun T. I do have a true beach body.
Additional Programs: Insanity
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, amazing results
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i was very impressed

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ca
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I coach a boys soccer team & offered extra training to the boys that wanted it. After a few sessions you could not only see the difference in practice but in the games with the boys who came to the training. Before long my garage was full !!!
Additional Programs: Insanity, P90x
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is awesome!!

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from manhattan, ks
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have completed the 60 days of insanity and loved it! However, I'm a girl and really like the lean look. I wanted more and was hesitant to try the asylum because with the sports training logo i thought it might make me "bulky" (partciularly my legs) These 30 days have not only not made me bulkier but made me leaner. I am getting more compliments on my arms and my legs feel toned and smaller. I love the strength video and that there is more of a variety to the workouts than the original insanitys constant plyo movements. I have followed Shaun T's nutrition plan of whole wheat carbs, fruit, good fats, and low carb at night. I have lost 5 pounds. I am 5'6" and started at 140 lbs and dropped to 135. I would recommend this product to anyone!!!
Additional Programs: Insanity, P90X
Pros: Met expectations
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ®
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Workout Program!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Otsego, MI
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got The Asylum about 2 weeks ago now and I am seeing great results and I'm only 14!! In my opinion the regular Insanity is a little better, but a little pricey. Don't get me wrong, The Asylum gets extreme results in a short amount of time, but I prefer the original one. I tried P90X but, Insanity and The Asylum gets much better results.. But that's just my opinion.. But it's defiantly worth the money!
Additional Programs: Insanity, Insanity: Fast and Furious, P90X
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, great results, great price
Cons: nothing!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>