Beachbody Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Beachbody
Shop Fitness Programs or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.759 out of 5
4.793 out of 5
4.389 out of 5

Customer Reviews for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2

INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2

These 7 NEW ASYLUM workouts are the next 30 days of pro athlete training designed to get you leaner, faster, and stronger than ever. So you not only defeat the competition. You CRUSH IT!
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Review 1 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Committed to the Asylum!!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I became hooked after Insanity and moved on to Asylum volume 1. I Love volume 2 even more! The workouts are long, (50-60 minutes) but they are very intense and leave you feeling accomplished and great at the end! The biggest difference I have noticed with this workout is the definition in my shoulders, back and arms.Overall I have really toned up and I love it!! I love using the weights in volume 2. Although the jumping/squatting drills with the agility ladder can be 'painful' - I think the ladder makes it more fun. After completing volume 2, I did the hybrid of 1 & 2. I am glad that I did volume 1 to begin with, but volume 2 is the one I will keep going back to. If you like super intense workouts that leave you dripping with sweat - these are for you. My only concern is I will be disappointed with other workout programs after these. I have been a student (and instructor) of tae kwon do for the last 10 years and these workouts have brought me up to a level I don't think I would have ever seen otherwise. I have been working out since I was 19- and because of the past 8 months at 42 years old and the mother of 3 children, I am in the best shape of my life!
Additional Programs: Insanity, Asylum Volume 1, Brazil Butt Lift
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing i love these workouts

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from connecticut
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the whole workout start to finish is the best yet is sean going to make assylum 3
Additional Programs: insanity , assylum 1
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Focus in different muscles

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chester, VA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I DID INSANITY, ASYLUM 1 AND I'M IN THE 2. THIS ONE YOU USE MORE WEIGHS BUT I HAVE NOT LOOSE ANY POUND SINCE I HAVEN'T BEING DOING A GOOD JOB WITH MY DIET BUT THE MOVES ARE DIFFERENT BUT OVERALL I LIKE INSANITY THE MOST.
Additional Programs: INSANITY, ASYLUM 1
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not even near halfway and i feel the results!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This workout is mind blowing on all aspects. For someone who's barely on day 2 out of 30, i can already feel the results. I'm sweating to a whole new level. You know how it feels to go on a water ride at an amusement park and the water gets into your shoes and wets your sock and every time you take a step you squish water? Yeah, replace the water with sweat!! I'm barely at day 2 out 30, come on now, I can already GURANTEE this will give me results. It's a big improvement to Asylum volume 1, this workout actually makes me feel like an athlete. VERY IMPORTANT, THIS WORKOUT IS NOT, I REPEAT NOT!! FOR BEGINNERS. Atleast complete a round or two of Asylum volume 1 to begin this, and that might not even be enough. The bottom line, this workout is DEFINITELY NOT for beginners, the results are guaranteed, get ready to make a slip & slide out of your own sweat.
Additional Programs: P90X P90X2 Insanity: The Asylum Volume 1
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, improvement from asylum 1, music!, results asap, new moves
Cons: 30 days is not enough., demand more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, but not for beginners

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The workout is awesome, and the moves in the Insanity: The Asylum 1 become the foundation of Insanity: Asylum 2. The workout is intense enough and probably not for beginner at all because of its complex movement. Shaun T is very motivating me to do these workouts even it's difficult. I almost dropped out in the middle, but I choose to stay until it's finished.
Additional Programs: P90X, Insanity Deluxe, Insanity: The Asylum Volume 1 - Sports Performance, Rockin' Body, Hip Hop Abs
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, enough time
Cons: the movement is too complex for beginners
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant program

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CT
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried the Asylum 1 and liked it very much but the second asylum is excellent. It added alot more weights. The athletic component is the best part of the program. I look forward to seeing the hybrid with insanity.
Additional Programs: P90X, P90X2, Ayslum 1
Pros: Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Real Training, Not for the Weak.

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This review is for all Insanity Programs.
I have Insanity, and Insanity Asylum 1&2. I have been training for 20+ years. I am 5'10, 220lbs, with low enough body fat to see abs, not bone shredded, but lean. My body excels at size and strength naturally. I have done mainly weight training and cardio until about a year-ago. I am a Marine Infantrymen, and now Law Enforcement.
Anyone with knowledge about the type of body needed for my job knows, that bulky weight training and basic cardio will not cut it. I have to be able to run a 1/2-mile as fast as possible with full gear. Then, wrestle with someone for who knows how long. You have to be explosive and most of all, able to handle your own body-weight up over fences, through alleys, etc. Bodyweight training keeps me strong, while keeping me functional.
I had P90x, returned it, it is too easy, low intensity, and intensity is what creates results. Insanity is the closest I can get to a bootcamp style training/MMA conditioning program in my home. Anyone serious about training realizes that intensity is a key component.
Insanity programs are not for the weak, but for the serious professionals that crave intensity, which in turn, create a truly functional body.
It is about time someone put it onto DVD, as is not afraid to say, “Intensity,” is what changes you. Not this wimpy mindset of exercises seen on most dvds and in gyms. Anything less, is well, a subpar you.
As long as Shaun-T keeps producing intense products, I will keep buying. If he gets too technical and starts the stand on one leg with eyes closed holding a ball in one hand, I will not buy the next program. I have to breathe hard, and break a sweat.
Intense training is the only way to a real body and performance. If you cannot commit to that, then you are settling for a weak you.
Keep to real life training.
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, for the strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love how Shaun T uses more weights!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love how he uses more the agility ladder and more weights, and at the end of EVERY workout he uses a burnout to test your skill and mental toughness. I saw a big change in my muscles quickly! If you did Asylum Vol. 1 I encourage you to try Vol. 2
Pros: Very effective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best one of the series by far!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PEI, Canada
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This program is very motivating, it gets you pumped and wanna push hard in the workouts! Shaun T has gone completely nuts but in a good way. It isn't like volume one where its continuous cardio because there are breaks in between moves in the volume 2 workouts, but overall very good program.
Love the X- Trainer because it gives you a full body workout
Upper Elite- A workout to work the upper body big time! No wonder it's called upper elite, Shaun T goes nuts in the second half of the workout!
Power legs- Definetely a leg worker, one of my favs in the series and very motivating!
Back n Six Pack- Like this one more than the original Back To Core in volume 1. A good sweat is worked up by the end of this.
Championship& Sudden Death Overtime Fit Test- It's what you've worked for all week long to get to this day! Going through all different types of sports and putting your training to the test! It's not as high intense then gameday from volume 1 but harder in a different way! The OT is where you take your fit test, Shaun gives you a certain amount of time to push your body to the limits! Doing a sequence in your ladder that is killer awesome!
Day Off- A very relaxing workout no crazy heart rate, just stretchin the muscles and takin er easy!
Ab Shredder- One of the most intense ab workouts i have ever done, its like a high cardio workout only working the abs! If you eat right and do this a couple time a week it won't be long till you start seeing your six pack pop!
Overall I love this program and I got awesome results, you will build lean muscle and it is very entertaining and fun! I do hope they continute making more asylum programs and continue to build this further! I recommend this to anybody looking for a serious athletic challenge to get you in the best shape of your life! Come on people lets get into shape, it's only 30 days!! Push play and Dig Deep!!!!
Additional Programs: Insanity & Insanity the Asylum Volume 1
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This program was by far the most extreme!

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was by far, more challenging and harder than Volume 1. The moves were very complex and hard. There was more weight lifting in it and definitely gets you more like a professional athlete. It was intense and had you dripping in swear like Volume 1. Plus, it has an shredder, which is the hardest an workout I've tried. It's My favorite Beachbody program and, in my opinion, is much harder than P90X2 and 1 and any others. However, the only thing that made Volume 1 harder was the continuous cardio, whereas in volume 2, the breaks between sets moves were a bit more at times. Asylum 2 is by far my favorite!
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, intense, complex and challenging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of the Insanity series!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rexburg, Idaho
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have done the 60 days of Insanity and got into great shape but still didn't get that ripped look I was looking for. I did 30 days of the Asylum and started to lean out more and become stronger. I started Volume 2 and finished the whole program and loved it!! I looked forward to doing these DVDs because they are extremely challenging and fun! Shaun T is funnier but tougher than ever. After every week you realize the program gets harder and harder, but you body gets stronger and stronger! I am almost done with my second round of Volume 2 and can not believe how far I have come in such little time. I look, feel, act, and perform like an Elite Athlete.
Additional Programs: Insanity, Insanity the Asylum
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations, physically demanding, dripping in sweat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DVDs misnamed, not challenging compared to vol 1

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
I have discovered that most of my DVDs in the Insanity Asylum 2 are misnamed- while I think I have all of them, the upper body workout, for example, is actually the legs workout and the back and core workout is actually the upper body workout, etc. Worse than that, and very disappointing, however, none of the workouts pose as much as a challenge as the Asylum 1 or the Insanity workouts. I have done the three longest of the 7 workouts and have barely broken a sweat, whereas the max Insanity workouts and the Game day workout from Asylum 1 were great workouts. I was really looking forward to having more challenging workouts to do to mix it up. A bit disappointing.
Additional Programs: Iinsanity, Asylum, some P90X and P90X2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply brilliant

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Plymouth, Ma
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Asylum Volume 2 is the perfect sequel to Volume 1. I love the challenges of the new program (especially the variation of sports in the championship fit test program)! Shaun has definately stepped it up and he forces you to step it up as well.
The ab shredder workout proves once again that you can get an incredible ab workout in less than 20 min without doing any crunches!!
As always, Shaun T and the crew don't disappoint.
This program is on the top of my list!!!
Thanks Shaun T and Beachbody!!
Additional Programs: P90x, P90x2, insanity, asylum vol. 1, asylum vol. 2
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® Volume 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very creative and realistic

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All of the adds claimed Asylum Volume 2 would be more challenging than Volume 1. In some ways it is. Volume 2 has trickier agility sequences, and a greater variety of exercises. It is also more comprehensive in that all areas of the body get more focused strength training. I think it is an improvement over Volume 1 in this, but, to be honest, it is not more difficult in terms of brute physical demands on the body. Volume 1 is harder in that sense. But this is a good thing. To make any workout more strenuous than - say - Vertical Plyo from Volume 1 is simply not realistic. Lets face it, Volume one hit the limit of Insanity. Anything more strenous would overtrain and simply not be doable. Volume 2 got a reality check. The warm ups have been toned down so that they feel and function like actual warm ups. In Volume 1, particularly Vertical Plyo, the warm ups were as intense as a full blown workout. This really isn't a warm up, which is meant to ease you into a workout. In Volume 2, the warm ups are much more reasonable. The really hard work is saved for the actual workout where it belongs. The workouts are just as hard as Volume 1, but seem to be paced better. In Volume 2, I feel like Shaun knows exactly when the right moment is to switch from a really intense exercise to another one that is less strenuous but that demands more agility or mental focus. The workout is still Insane, but balanced, and well thought out. It is also perhaps Shauns most creative program. There isn't that much new under the sun when it comes to this kind of workout, and yet, Shaun managed to find innovative variations and combinations that feel fresh and entertaining but that somehow manage to also stick to the basics which work the best. And he doesn't repeat the same kinds of workout we got in Volume 1. Back to Core is very different from Back and 6 Pack, for example. I am very glad to have both Volumes. Finally, the workout schedule makes a lot more sense than the one from Volume one, which strikes me as somewhat random. The weekly rotation in Volume 2 is clear and simple and gives each body part plenty of rest between workouts. The one ammendment I am making is to switch the second stretch day with the agility tutorial followed by Pure Contact. This helps with learning the moves, but also, these 2 workouts go nicely together as a cardio workout that is light enough to go on a recovery day. But otherwise, I like the new schedule so much that I am thinking of alternating between Volume 1 and 2 every week following the same schedule each week for each program. The Volume 1 weekly rotation would be
Day 1 - Speed and Agility
Day 2 - Strength
Day 3 - Vertical Plyo
Day 4 - Back to Core
Day 5 - Relief
Day 6 - Game Day and Overtime
Day 7 - Off or Athletic Performance Assenssment
This way, we can do one week of Volume 1, and one week of volume 2. I think I would prefer this to one of those rather random looking hybrid schedules.
All things considered, this program is an improvement over the last Insanity programs. Shaun T seems to be learning and refining his workout structure. The way things are going, if there is going to be a Volume 3 I am so going to buy it the second it gets released!
Additional Programs: P90X, P90X2, Tai Cheng, Total Body Solution, Insanity, Insanity The Asylum: Volume 1
Pros: Very effective, Met expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.