Beachbody Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Beachbody
Shop Fitness Gear or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar

P90X ® Chin-Up Bar

Develop and strengthen your shoulders, back, and arms with this high-grade training tool featuring multiple grip positions. (Used with P90X® and INSANITY: THE ASYLUM®.) May ship separately.
Average Customer Rating:
3.151 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
16
34 out of 53(64%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Review 41 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

instructions

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Virginia beach, Va 23454
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hello my name is jon,
I am starting to P90X system and when i recieved the chin up bar there was more little screws then the bigs ones. This was no big deal, because i called customer service and they sent me replacement parts. But this is a big kicker when i go the replacement parts they were an inferior kind. Which to me spending the time and money for this chin-up bar was replusive. Now, i found a way to put it all together with all the same screws. I dont know if everyone else is experiencing this problem, when I am ready to mount the chin-up bar is states to put the bars 13.75 in apart. Well aparently when i measured inside and outside the J-mounts they still didnt equal that measurement. The instructions and the gear needs to be sysmetrical in everyway. Your pulling up from a door frame and i dont know if it makes a difference those couple of inches but i would like to have it become specific. Im not happy with the inaccuracy of the instructions but i have installed it and seems to be fine. Just stating my opinion about the fact thanks .
-12points
13of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

product useless since it does not fit door frame

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Columbus OH
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Since it does not fit the door frame of a normal house it is useless. Manufacturer should take them all back and do a simple redesign. What a waist of money.
Cons: not designed for most doors
+4points
13of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It damages my walls above the door trim.

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Jackson, TN
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the chin up bar with my P90X dvd program. It assembled relatively easy, but the upper bar where it wedges against the wall above the door trim does not have thick enough padding on it and the supplied screw heads damaged my sheetrock by putting holes in the wall above my door trim. Had to putty, repair and repaint my walls!
Product seems sturdy and made well, but will damage your walls.
Fitness Programs: P90X
Pros: Very durable, High quality
Cons: needs more support padding
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't fit door

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
from nj
My wife got it for me for fathers day, but it doesn't fit my door and they don't sell an extender piece like other makers do.
Cons: no extension piece
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Owner

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Toronto Canada
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product is very limited. You must have a clear wall space of 42". Doorways adjacent corners are not an option. It works only with 2x4 stud walls with requisite drywall and the chintziest of casing (door trim). Anyone who lives in an older home or a higher end new home with decent trim will find this bar useless. Get out the tools to put this baby together...........the fasteners and nuts are stubborn and there are no lock washers. Large rubber stand-offs on the business side of the unit where it necessarily interfaces with the casing of the doorway would be useful to displace the pressure over a larger area. This would eliminate/reduce the inevitable wear and tear. You could sell more of these if somebody thought it through more carefully. Mine is being returned.
Fitness Programs: p90x
Cons: location issues
+43points
45of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My door frame is too think

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My door frames are too thick to use this bar on, does P90X make longer (extended) "L" bars to accommodate this problem? The website does not specify the thickness of the doorway as a concern before you buy. Any solutions?
Fitness Programs: P90X
Cons: skinny
+15points
21of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best bar for the money

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Avon, CT
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I LOVE this bar. It has multiple hand positions, cushioned grips that don't spin or slide, and the bar doesn't flex or bend under weight. It mounts easily in any standard door frame without screws, hardware or any modification to the door frame, and it unhooks just as easily-- I set it up for my workout then take it down.
There are only 2 downsides that keep it from earning tops in the review categories . . .
First, on the horizontal bar that sits against the wall on top of the door frame moulding there are the 2 screw heads that protrude. These will permanently indent your drywall. I solved this problem by taping 2 paint stir sticks to the face of the bar, keeping the screws from touching the wall.
Second, the rubber handles that press against the vertical door case mouldings can dent the moulding. I prevent this by by placing a folded-up piece of thick cardboard box between the moulding and the bar handles.
Fitness Programs: P90X and ChaLEAN Extreme
Pros: Very durable, High quality, ultiple hand positions, easy to set up/take down
Cons: can dent door moulding
+37points
45of 53voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Inaccurate Installation Specifications

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia PA
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can't wait to start using this, but unfortunately have to re-do the installation. The instructions specify a 13.75" spacing of the brackets. This would place them at the outside of the vertical bars and the rubber does not permit clearance. The picture and the video clearly show the brackets go in the INTERIOR of the bars, therefore the correct spacing should be specified as 9.5" (i.e. 12.5" bar spacing - (2 x 1.5" bracket width)). Very frustrating to now have to patch holes because of poor documentation, please get the instructions straight.
Fitness Programs: P90X
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but it may damage the door frame

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Charleston, SC
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Obviously, it's good to have a product like this in the exercise program. However, when you put your weight on the bar, it presses against the wood door frame and leaves marks and fairly deep indentations. I note in one of the videos that someone uses dish towels in an attempt to safeguard the door frame. Probably a good idea!
Fitness Programs: P90X
Cons: may damage door frame
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Door Frame too Thick for Chin-up Bar

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from The couch
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'd like to write a review for this, but I was never able to get it set up. My door frame is to thick. Does P90X make any that would fit a thicker frame?
Fitness Programs: All of them.
Cons: too skinny
+2points
21of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wide grip, close grip, over-hand, under-hand, more

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely happy! This is worth the few bucks! There are alternatives to this like bands but I really enjoy this product(love-hate:) Generates an excellent lat excercise platform. The correct hand distances and grip styles are important and the bars foam grips ensure the is done properly every time.BRING IT!
Fitness Programs: p90x
Pros: Very durable, High quality
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong, good cunstruction

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Painesville, OH
I am just under the 300 lbs mark and I use this chin up bar for assisted chin ups. It works awesome and I have no wories of any type of failure when I use it.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality!

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Bentonville AR
I would definitely recommend this over any other chin up bar out there! I tried to save some money to help me through this program (being full time student= frugal) but after I studied the workout I discovered that the others were very questionable, even the ones that could be mistaken as identical did not have the same multiple position options. If you are taking your Beachbody experience seriously then you should definitley invest in this chin-up bar.
-11points
14of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar

PostedFebruary 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
I own several pull-up bars from several manufacturers. None of them are as sturdy, durable, or as versatile as the P90X Chin-Up Bar. This is made with solid construction with the intention of it being used on a regular basis. It was worth every dollar that I paid for it and I have recommended it to many others interested in advancing their work-out program.
-80points
12of 104voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Best chin up bar out there. Has a variety of positions for perfroming the pull ups. I've had it for 2 months and can tell a difference. I'm 260 lbs and it supports me just fine. Only problem has one of the hand grips tore. I contacted the online customer service and they were not helpful in replacing that part. No reason why I should have to 'jimmy' an expensive item. I called their corporate number and they are going to help me. BTW, there is a lifetime warrenty for the bar. Ask for it.
+5points
15of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar

PostedJune 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chin-Up Bar was easy and quick to assemble. Holds my weight well and feels very secure. I love having the ability to take it down and store it when not in use or company is over to the house. Strongly suggest anyone taking the P90x journey to add one to the small list of tools to use.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar

PostedJune 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
It's seems the screws and lock-washers that go with the chin bar are of poor quality. First it's a very tight fit just to get the screw into the washer, and when you do manage to do it, the screws are so soft that the heads strip out before you can get it tighten down. Has anybody else had that problem and is there some trick to doing it without damaging the screw.
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar

PostedJune 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
I love the chin up bar. Fits well in my door, does not damage the door frame. I would highly recommend the chin up bar. Well worth the money.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar

PostedJune 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Great chin up bar.......but way too expensive relative to other chin up bars available in the market.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for P90X ® Chin-Up Bar

PostedJune 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Love the chin up bar, everything it was suppose to be...I also got the bands which are great but the handles for them are poorly designed and did not last through the 90 days.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>