Beachbody Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Beachbody
Shop Fitness Gear or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for P90X ® Chin-Up Max

P90X ® Chin-Up Max

Use with the P90X Chin-Up Bar to maximize your chin-ups and pull-ups. It gives you an adjustable amount of support so you can work your way up to doing more unassisted reps. (Used with P90X and INSANITY: THE ASYLUM ® )*
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Review 1 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a woman I didn't feel like I was getting all I could out of P90X using the bands, but couldn't do even one pull up/ chin up. Got this and it is AMAZING! Very sturdy construction, impressed with the quality! It feels great to get that full range of motion, and it will be easy to increase difficulty as I get stronger. Wish I would have bought it 9 weeks ago when I started! My husband is also ordering his own he was so impressed. Thanks Beachbody! Another great product!
Fitness Programs: P90X
Pros: Very durable, High quality
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than a chair

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oldmans township NJ
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am good for 8 - 12 pull ups before I max out. I felt like my chair was too high and I didn't have a better solution so I Googled what others did and came across this. This is a must have in my opinion to get to more pull ups and eventually stronger to do more with out it. No more chair for me and I feel like it's safer as well.
Fitness Programs: P90x
Pros: Very durable, High quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bands break

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had these bands for 2 years. I use them every week. I am 6'3" and weight about 220. In the last month 2 of the bands have broken on me.
Cons: Not durable
-19points
8of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Amazingly!

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It helps you unbelievably well! I can do only three pull ups, but with this, I can do 10!
Fitness Programs: P90X
Pros: Very durable, High quality
 
My product recommendations
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Assist for Women

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
P90X and P90X2 have greatly enhanced my athleticism and even increased my abilities in dance and pilates. Pull-ups had been the most intimidating aspect of these programs. I had the P90X chin up bar and made do with a chair to assist. FINALLY, I now have the Chin Up Max. What a difference! I love the greater range of motion. I feel powerful when using this. The adjustabilty is great too.
I highly recommend this product for anyone who feels their pull-ups need assistance. This will make all the difference.
Fitness Programs: P90X2, Insanity
Pros: Very durable, High quality
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

REALLY helpful!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Delaware
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is a godsend - no need to fuss with chair-assisted pullups/chinups - just hook this thing onto the bar, and away you go! Looking forward to the day when I can do the exercises completely unassisted, but until then... this is the way to go. Highly recommend.
Fitness Programs: P90X
Pros: Very durable, High quality
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works amazing

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
The best pull up assist I have ever seen. My wife uses it and loves it. 10/10
Fitness Programs: P90X2, Insanity, P90X and P90X plus
Pros: High quality
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chin up max

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
I do al whole bunch of chin-ups, such a great strength builder. I have a sports-related right arm injury that makes certain hand angles painful for the arm, this item allows me to get around that. Happy me.
Fitness Programs: P90 2
Pros: High quality
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best item ever!!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product! My wife and I got this for Christmas and we have used it every day. It helps you to be able to do chin ups far better than a chair ever will.
I recommend this to everyone I know who is starting P90X(2)!
Fitness Programs: P90X, P90X2, Insanity, Turbo Fire
Pros: High quality
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Way better than a chair for pull-up assistance

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Joliet, IL
I needed help with pull-ups so started with resistance bands. I felt like I had moved passed the bands but still wasn't able to do many pull-ups, especially while maintaining good form. The chair as suggested in the video did not help much. It really breaks form.
The band was the perfect solution. I have been gradually reducing the tension as my strength is improving.
Pros: High quality, adapts to your level of need
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Bomb for pullups

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On my second round of P90X and while I can crank out 10 plus pullups it gets ugly fast. This system keeps me clean at 20 plus. Will cut back on the amount of bands soon. Money well spent!
Fitness Programs: P90, P90X
Pros: Very durable, High quality
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Exactly as adertised

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 16 years old and have recently started P90X. I used to do the occasional workout with my father and would always have to use the chair for workouts with pull-ups. Preforming pull-ups with the chair didn't let me get full range of motion and didn't let me work my back as much as I would have liked. I wanted a better way of performing pull-ups before I began P90X. Luckily my dad ordered the Chin-Up Max along with the P90X pull-up bar.
The product is absolutely fantastic! Basically this product works exactly as advertised. It's very sturdy, secure, simple to use & adjust, keeps the body in correctly aligned, allows for better range of motion, and let's me target the back muscles more effectively. Would highly recommend this product for anyone that has difficulty with pull-ups and/or chin-ups.
Fitness Programs: P90X
Pros: Very durable, High quality, better/full range of motion, simple to adjust
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than using a chair!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from York, PA
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
During P90X2 workouts, I use a chair to assist with my pull-ups especially late in the workout. Using a chair, I always felt I wasn't getting enough out of a pull-up as it often felt that I was assisting myself too much. Also I felt my body position was too far offline when using a chair.
Using the Chin-up max, I am definitely getting more out of my pull-ups and my body remains in perfect form. It is quick and easy to adjust the strap to increase or decrease resistance levels. The device seems to be very good quality. I'm glad I made the purchase and very happy with the product.
Fitness Programs: P90X, P90X2, Insanity
Pros: Very durable, High quality, assists with proper form
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for someone starting out.

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Rockford, IL
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did p90x for 2 years using bands instead of the pull up bar. When I got P90x2 I wanted to use the pullup bar this time. This is a great item to get the motion down and reps in for regular pull ups until able to do them un assisted.
Fitness Programs: P90x P90x2 and Insanity
Pros: Very durable, High quality, adjustable help level
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from taxes
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This great for pullups on the pull up bar, keeps my back in lined, and as -a-5ft and 11 Inc guy I did the works but the pull ups were hard but not hard enougth thislets me go deep and I go all out, and it will not give out I have us it in my last workout and its great.
Pros: Very durable, High quality
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for P90X ® Chin-Up Max
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

way better than the chair

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doing pull ups with the chair, I never quite felt like I was using the proper muscle groups. With this, I am using much better form for my pull ups and I am able to change the amount of assistance so I can gradually work towards unassisted pull ups.
Pros: Very durable, High quality
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.