Beachbody Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Beachbody
Shop Fitness Programs or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for TurboFire ®

TurboFire ®

Are you ready for Chalene Johnson's Fire Drills? TurboFire will help you burn up to 9x more fat and calories than you would with traditional cardio. This 90-day program includes 12 high-intensity classes that go from low impact to high impact, plus a starter class that breaks down all the moves. You also get the Fuel the Fire Nutrition Guide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.827 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(2414 Reviews) 2414
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 2,414 reviews
5 stars
2,167
4 stars
102
3 stars
40
2 stars
32
1 star
33
2,294 out of 2,374(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for TurboFire ®
Review 61 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way too jacked up!

PostedApril 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
I am sending back Turbo Fire today, as a daily exercise enthusiast who wanted to try something different, this DVD set is way over the top. The moves are so fast, I felt like I could not do a single move correctly. I truly loathed this Turbo Fire set - exercise needs to be some sort of "fun" - I dreaded each day going to pull out a DVD. I am 47, in decent shape, so that's not the issue, the speed of this workout is simply ridiculous. I have to figure out today, how I can get my refund.
Additional Programs: turbo jam
Cons: Did not meet expectations, way too fast and jacked up!, so fast difficult to do proper moves
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT LOVING IT!!! YET???

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Canada
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did the first video ez 55 and so much going on the moves change so much I cannot keep up. I am a DVD workout junkie and I love Chalene so I did the HIIT 20 to give that a try, was a bit better but I am not in love with this program!
Additional Programs: insanity, p90x, Chalene Extreme, Jari Love Ripped, Jillian, Bob Harper
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I was very disappointed!

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This wuld have been a great set of videos if there was any kind of instruction! It says there wouold be a new to class on each video but there's not! I considered myself to be in pretty good shape, just need some toning but this was ridiculous! I couldn't do any of them! No instructions! I am returning it right away!
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no instructions!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why buy this product?

PostedApril 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
There's is nothing magical or special about this product. You excercise hard and consistently, coupled with eating right, and you lose weight. Duhhh. Genius!
In addition, when choosing an exercise program, select something that you can do consistently 3-6 times per weeek for one year. I promise you, you will be sick of this program within a few months.
(With all due respect to the energetic spokesperson of the product, she is not even in great shape. Shouldn't the person leading the activity be in better shape than half the women at your gym?)
Having said all that, if this program or something similar is what you need to get motivated, then sure, it's worth it. Otherwise, save your money and use what really works -- resistance training + a healthy diet.
Additional Programs: Turbo Fire
Cons: Not effective
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not use this!!!!!

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
I did not even work up a sweat! Not to mention, it is supposed to be fun. This is anything but fun, the best way to describe it is boring which would be fine if it actually worked! Do not buy this!!!
Cons: Not effective
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Frustrating!

PostedMarch 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased Turbo Fire with hopes of toning up a bit by using a fun program. It looks like a blast - Although, it was extremely hard for me to learn. After the first class, I was left confused & frustrated. It wasn't 30 minutes, after doing the breakdowns. The breakdowns were way to quick, even after going back & watching them over again.
When the class started, I would try to focus on someone also facing forward, but was unable to do that as the camera was all over the place.
My suggestion would be to do a better instruction DVD for the beginners. I work out regularly and am fit & I was frustrated.
I will probably be returning it as I'm sure ever DVD has different moves. I don't have the time or patience to keep rewinding each portion trying to learn the moves for every DVD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just received TurboFire in the mail yesterday. It is definatley NOT for anyone who is uncoordinated and who hasn't tried choreographed cardio before. I tried the "new to class" section of the Fire 30 DVD, and was lost almost immediately. It moves WAY too fast in the "breakdown." If I can't keep up with the "New to class" section, I don't even want to try this anymore. i'll be returning mine. Too much money to feel left out and confused.
Cons: Not effective, Did not meet expectations, confusing, moves too fast, indimidating
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Missed out on a week of gym time

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased Turbo Fire because I was getting bored with being at the gym all the time. While I love weights, I despise doing cardio on a treadmill and have always enjoyed dance classes. I've just finished the first week of Turbo Fire and I feel as if I missed out on a week of valuable gym time. Yes, I know it's called TURBO Fire, but how long did the people in the video have to do this before they were able to follow the moves? There were several times when I would find myself flinging myself widly about because I couldn't follow what was going on. Charlene even says it herself, "If you're not moving, you're not working." Well, evidently, I wasn't working because I would just have to stop to figure it out! It goes from one move to the other and you move your arms one way while your feet go another and your supposed to be crunching your abs at a dizzying speed. I guess I'll go back to going to the gym at 0430 hrs in the below zero degree weather than waste time and money on these. I'm shocked there was as many positive reviews as there were!
Additional Programs: 10 Minute Trainer
Cons: too fast to figure out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Workouts are fine.....

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After finishing insanity, I wanted to go with something that was a true interval, so I decided to go with Turbofire. I think the workouts are fine, but it's the stuff that comes with the deluxe package that is useless.....
First, the weighted gloves are not for guys. I'm not a big guy (5'8 and 165) and they aren't even close to fitting. The recovery drink is the older version that they are currently clearancing out..... so all in all I feel like I got a little ripped off buying the deluxe package. I would just stick to the regular.....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HARD TO FOLLOW

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
These video's are hard to follow, the instructor is kind of all over the place with some pretty nonsense moves. My husband and I workout consistently and he backed out after the fireball throw. Every video is similar, just shorter and longer versions. I think the P90X is easier to follow. I would not recommend.
Cons: Did not meet expectations
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Almost as Bad as the Brazil Butt LIft

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was the LAMEST workout! This was a bunch of punching with silly (unnecessary) "hip hop" moves thrown in. What a waste of money! Returned after day 1 - couldn't stand to listen to her voice one more second.
Additional Programs: P90X & Insanity
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

wow.....ummm it's that bad.

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from omaha, NE
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I understand that this is called Rapid Fire, and that participants move from one move to another quickly, but nothing prepared me for the awful choreography, sloppy moves and insane cheerleaders leading the group.
The encouraging yells in the video did not come from the participants, rather they came from the directing coaches sitting on the side lines. There were not enough men involved to be yelling as much as they were.
Additional Programs: Insanity, Turbo Jam and Hip Hop abs
Cons: Did not meet expectations
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you are a trainer or an expert this is for you!

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from South Carolina
I got Turbo Fire thinking that it would be like Turbo Jam and be easy to follow with step by step instructions. To my surprise because I love Chalene's Turbo Jam, I was unable to do this workout. I tried to learn but instead of making learning easy, you learn a set of moves quickly and then add on 3 more sets of moves along with it. Definitely not as adaptable as they say!! I let my neighbor who does crossfit and her normal physical training with the military try this workout and she too was unable to do this workout. If you are a trainer or someone who is able to quickly without much training learn moves, this is for you. It would be a great workout if it was slowed down so I could learn each move before sending me full swing into a series of moves. Slow this one down for instructions Chalene and it would be great!!
Cons: can't pick up and do this one!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

How am I supposed to follow along?

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Montana
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am not a dancer and I can barely hear her give the ques to a new series of moves. Super disappointed that I had to constantly stop and watch to figure out what was going on and then pick it up just to have it change again. I was so excited to start this regime but I have to return it because I can't follow along to this super fast and constantly changing routine. How am I supposed to get a workout if half the time I am standing there frozen with confusion?
Additional Programs: Insanity
Cons: Not effective, Did not meet expectations, confusing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to follow - Overpriced

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houma, LA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The videography is aweful and the moves are too fast paced to keep up with for a beginner or even as an intermediate. I have done Les Mills combat classes and loved it and able to keep up with no problem, so when I saw this I was thrilled. I tried it for a week but ended up injuring my knee (which I had never had problems with before) and then became discouraged. Fast forward 6 months of bootcamps later, where we do Tabata HIIT style training and my stamina and strength is better than ever. So I decided to give another go, still cannot keep up with the moves and my knees kill me. I really wish I would have sent this back for a full refund instead of holding on to it to see if I could work up to it. Not satisfied at all, and now when I see the commercial, I just cringe!
Cons: Did not meet expectations, hard to follow, over priced
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from mesa Az
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
I was really looking to do this workout I was pretty sure I would get the moves quickly since I have been doing Zumba for about 3 yrs now and my Zumba instructor is somewhat hard to keep up with her energy.This here go ahead and do it if you want to get hurt.It's a lot of fast paced kick boxing and it's hard to keep up with the moves.I'm more about the quality of the moves in an exercise routine than how fast you can move.
And also this here is not for no beginner I have done P90X and I rather stick with that.On good note though I loved the high paced aerobic music =)
Additional Programs: P90X/Hip hop abs
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too hard to follow.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Turbo Fire is not for the beginner. It is very hard to follow. Camera is not only on the instructor but filmed from halway back in the room, therefore, the other people in the video add to the confusion, while trying to pick up on the moves. It is a very fast high intensity work out. Which is good but very hard to learn the moves therefore is discouraging.
I am not a beginner, and consider myself to have intermediate ability. You will burn calories, but don't expect to pick up on the moves quickly. Videography is not the best.
Additional Programs: Hip Hop Abs Love it!
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lack of repitition = confused = lack of sweat

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Appleton, WI
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If you're already in shape (I had done P90X then Insanity) and you're looking for a high aerobic work out for more fat burn...think twice before ordering TF. I couldn't wait to start jumping around at a high intensity and fast pace...unfortunately, learning the moves takes a lot of practice. I was in dance in HS/college plus a cheerleader (along with BB & VB) so this should be fairly easy for me to do but instead...just as I caught onto a set of moves we changed immediately to another set of moves which made me have to slow down and try to catch on again. The lack of repetition left me confused and slowed me down so I couldn't get in a good work out.
She provides a starter video, though I thought was boring, and an option for each work out with more instruction until you've got it down and want to amp up the music...plus she's extremely motivating and throws in a lot of good tips like Tony & Shaun do in their programs. However, if you want to look like her and the other perfect 10 people in her class...I think you have to do this program 3-4 times over because it's going to take a lot of time to really get the hang of it. By that time you may get very bored with the same program plus hit a plateau.
P90X was great, easy to follow, motivating, though it lacked aerobic conditioning it made you want to press play everyday. Insanity was fantastic, easy to follow, motivating, kicked your butt big time but still made you want to press play every day. I love lifting weights (P90X), I love sport conditioning (Insanity), I love aerobics probably most of all...but not sure if I will stick with Turbo Fire. Definitely DOESN'T make me want to press play everyday...I'll give it another week. But am very glad I have the 90 Day Money back guarantee option.
Additional Programs: P90X & Insanity
Pros: gets you excited to want to work out
Cons: lacks repetition=confusing=lack of sweat
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Its an ok workout

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
Uses accompanying nutrition program: No
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Its an ok workout, especially if you are not really familiar with martial arts. However, a lot of the moves do not flow well.
Additional Programs: P90X, Tai Cheng, Asylum, RevAbs, BBL
Pros: gets your heart pumping
Cons: Did not meet expectations, choreography doesn't flow well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for TurboFire ®
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product was too intense

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from United States
Uses accompanying nutrition program: Yes
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Results 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought I wanted a workout program with intensity, but this program turned out to be so intense I couldn't stick with it. I had read reviews that the music was fun and that it was easy to keep up with, but I disagree. I have tried other BeachBody products that I love and was able to stick with, but TurboFire was not one of them. Unfortunately, I felt like I wasted my money.
Additional Programs: Brazillian Butt Lift, Yoga Booty Ballet
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 114 next>>